Lumen Prize

DEADLINE : 1st June, 2017

An international open call for artists engaged with digital technology.
Welcoming submissions from March 22, The Lumen Prize is an international award that celebrates artists working with digital technology. The competition offers a prize fund of $10,500, plus inclusion in Lumen’s annual programme of exhibitions and events which take place globally for shortlisted and winning artists.  
Now in its 6th year, The Lumen Prize has awarded over $40,000 in prize money and has staged over 30 exhibitions worldwide, in cities including New York, Shanghai, Amsterdam and Athens. 
The 2017 prizes are: 
• Gold Award ($3000)
• Moving Image ($1000)
• Still Image ($1000)
• AR/VR ($1000)
• 3D/Sculpture ($1000)
• Interactive ($1000)
• Web-based ($1000)
• Founder’s Award ($750)
• Meural Student Prize ($500)
• People’s Choice Award ($250)
The 2017 Jury Panel includes Doug Dodds (Senior Curator, Victoria & Albert Museum, London), Foteini Aravani (Digital Curator, Museum of London), Michael Takeo Magruder (2015 Lumen Prize category winner), Tessa Jackson (independent curator and consultant), Weiwei Wang (Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art, Shanghai) and Bruce Wands (Chair Emeritus, School of Visual Arts, New York). 
The Longlist will be determined by the International Selectors’ Committee co-chaired by Irini Papadimitriou (V&A and Watermans) and Janice Lane (National Museum Wales). This year’s ISC, made up of curators, gallerists, and academics, includes Carla Gannis (artist and digital professor at Pratt Institute, NY), Kelani Nichole (TRANSFER Gallery), Alessio de Vecchi (artist) and Scott Draves (artist).
The closing date for entries is 1 June 2017 at 11:59 GMT; and the winner will be announced on September 21st in London. 
In 2016 the Gold Award was presented to the Italian duo Fabio Giampietro and Alessio de Vecchi for Hyperplanes of Simultaneity, a virtual reality experience which transformed the traditional canvas into a 360° cityscape. Previous shortlisted artists and recipients of The Lumen Prize have gone on to achieve success around the world including the British artist Andy Lomas, whose 2014 winning work Cellular Forms is now in the collection of the V&A; Alexandra Handal, winner of the 2014 People’s Choice Gold Award, whose web-based Dream Homes Property Consultants has recently been acquired by the Museum of Contemporary Art, Denmark; and Michael Takeo Magurder, recipient of the 2015 Immersive Environments Award for A New Jerusalem, who is currently artist-in-residence at The British Library.
Artists who have been shortlisted and/or received awards include: Jon McCormack, Carla Gannis, Golan Levin, Esther Rolinson, Fabiano Mixo, Sam Rolfes, Matteo Zamagni, Claire Reika Wright, Marpi and onformative. 
Key info:
• Administration fee of $45 – covers two entries, and each additional entry costs $22.50
• You must select a category to enter from: Moving Image, Still, Web-based, 3D/Sculpture, Interactive, VR/AR, Student
• The Student Prize is only valid for still and moving image. To enter the Student Prize email 
• Digitised versions of traditional artworks will not be accepted 
• Deadline for submissions is June 1
• Longlist will be announced at the V&A Digital Futures on July 11th |

For more information visit –