The Bermingham Prize

WHEN : 9th - 25th February
WHERE : QCA, Webb Gallery

Twenty-two artists will showcase their work in the inaugural ‘Elaine Bermingham National Watercolour Prize in Landscape Painting’ finalist exhibition. Featuring the best watercolour artworks from across Australia, the exhibition opens Thursday 9 February at Griffith University’s Webb Gallery, located within the Queensland College of Art South Bank campus, Brisbane. 

Special guest judge, artist Michael Zavros will announce the winners at the official opening, Friday 10 February 6–8pm. The overall winner will receive a non-acquisitive cash prize of $20,000, generously donated by Elaine Bermingham. Two highly commended awards of $2,000 each will also be announced.

The 2017 finalists are:

Tanya Baily (NSW), Leah Bullen (NSW), Stephen Bird (NSW), Maryanne Coutts (NSW) Sam Cranstoun (QLD), Charlie Donaldson (QLD), Mitchell Donaldson (QLD), Robert Fenton (VIC), Jane Grealy (QLD), Belem Lett (NSW), Graham Marchant (NSW), Penny Mason (TAS), Fiona McMonagle (NSW), Deb Mostert (QLD), Nicola Moss (QLD), Elizabeth Nelson (VIC), Monica Rohan (QLD), Camille Serisier (QLD), Jackson Slattery (VIC), Karen Stephens (QLD), Naomi White (QLD), Laura Williams (WA).

The Bermingham Prize is a unique triennial art prize that aims to celebrate excellence and innovation in the watercolour medium. Elaine Bermingham had a passion for the visual and dramatic arts and saw watercolour painting as an underrated art form. She was passionate about promoting the medium through the establishment of the Bermingham Prize.

Award Night: Friday 10 February 2017, 6pm – 8pm
Webb Gallery, Level 2 Webb Centre,
Queensland College of Art, Griffith University
226 Grey Street, South Bank QLD 4101
Gallery Open Tuesday – Saturday 10am – 4pm