Sony World Photography Awards


Deadline: January 6, 2023

The awards offer an unparalleled opportunity for exposure for photographers at all stages of their career and are known worldwide by industry leaders. The images are judged by the World Photography Organisation and a specially selected jury from theWorld Photographic Academy which is made up on the photographic industry’s most esteemed individuals.

The Sony World Photography Awards has five competitions:

  • Professional – 15 categories, judged on a series of images
  • Open – 10 categories, judged on a single image, open to all
  • Youth – 3 categories, for photographers aged 12-19
  • Student Focus – for those studying photography

In addition it runs the National Awards programme in 47 countries, looking to find the best single shot taken by a photographer from that country.
The awards offer categories across all genres of photojournalism, fine art andcommercial photography, and the author of the image retains full ownership of the copyright in each entry.


Professional, amateur, youth and student photographers from across the world are welcome to enter their best work.


The awards have brought untold reward and recognition to those involved and each year offers an incredible 30,000 USD in cash prizes plus the latest Sony digital imaging equipment.

The annual awards gala and ceremony takes place in London, welcoming an international attendance of industry leaders to celebrate the recognition of the best in contemporary photography and each year also pays tribute to one of our masters with the Outstanding Contribution to Photography Award. Supporting the celebration is an exhibition of the winners and shortlist, comprising of hundreds of photographs expertly curated inside the historic London landmark, Somerset House.

Related Posts