Today, ‘the churchie’ Committee and the Institute of Modern Art (IMA), announced the finalists for the churchie national emerging art prize 2019. From over 450 entries submitted, 19 artists have been selected to exhibit in this

much-anticipated finalists exhibition, presented at the IMA (Brisbane) for the first time. ‘the churchie’ now offers a lucrative $25,000 total prize pool to support the careers of the Australia’s top emerging visual artists.


The pre-selection panel consisted of Madeleine King (IMA Assistant Director), Tess Maunder (independent curator), Robert Andrew (artist) and Ben Hugheston-Roberts (Churchie Visual Arts Teacher).


Tess Maunder comments “Contemporary Australia is best represented through its multiplicities, and the entries we received this year were representative of this layered sense of identity across the country. It was excellent to see this come through with the submitted practices”.


She continues “For instance practices representing First Nations, culturally and lingually diverse perspectives sat alongside people representing a wide range of positions from the LGBTIQ+ community. These entries were not tokenistic, but instead pushed the very frameworks of the assumptions we place upon these communities. Alongside this, there was a strong focus on the return of the ceramics, the hand-made and process-based practices.”


The exhibition will remain open until 21 December and will feature artworks from each of the finalists. The overall prize winner will be awarded a $15,000 non-acquisitive cash prize sponsored by long-time supporters of ‘the churchie’, BSPN Architecture, along with two Commendation Prizes of $1,000 each (sponsored by Madison Cleaning and Painting Services) and a Highly Commended Prize of $5,000 (sponsored by Fardoulys Constructions). The People’s Choice Award of $3,000 (sponsored by Rob Whiteley of Madison Cleaning Services) will be awarded following the completion of the exhibition.


The 2019 Finalists are:


  1. Ronnie Allen (WA)
  2. Jordan Azcune (QLD)
  3. Caroline Garcia (NSW)
  4. Dennis Golding (NSW)
  5. Nadia Hernández (NSW)
  6. Joy Ivill (NSW)
  7. Nicolette Johnson (QLD)
  8. Mason Kimber (NSW)
  9. Tracey Lamb (VIC)
  10. Callum McGrath (QLD)
  11. Sarah Poulgrain (QLD)
  12. Gidon Sack (NSW)
  13. Kaspar Schmidt Mumm (SA)
  14. Jane Skeer (SA)
  15. Ben Soedradjit (NSW)
  16. Louise Tate (VIC)
  17. Shireen Taweel (NSW)
  18. Melanie Jame Wolf (VIC
  19. Min Wong (NSW)

For more information please visit –

Info not available

Info not available