The churchie emerging art prize and the Institute of Modern Art are thrilled to announce the 2022 prize finalists.

Over 400 entries were received from across Australia, with 12 talented artists selected by the pre-selection panel to exhibit their work at the IMA.

Congratulations to the 2022 finalists: Darcey Bella Arnold (VIC), Emma Buswell (WA), Jo Chew (TAS), Kevin Diallo (NSW), Norton Fredericks (QLD), Jan Griffiths (WA), Jacquie Meng (ACT), Daniel Sherington (QLD), Linda Sok (NSW), Lillian Whitaker (QLD), Agus Wijaya (NSW), and Emmaline Zanelli (SA).

The annual prize is open to emerging artists from across Australia working in any visual art medium. This year’s finalists represent a broad spread of artistic concerns and mediums spanning painting, textiles, video, drawing, installation, and more.

Guest exhibition curator Elena Dias-Jayasinha commented that, “The calibre of the applications this year was incredibly high. It was difficult selecting only 12 finalists, but I am thrilled by the artists chosen and look forward to working with them.”

Elena Dias-Jayasinha is an emerging Sri Lankan-Australian curator and art historian based in Brisbane. Her role as curator is generously supported by Armitstead ART Consulting.

The finalists’ exhibition is widely recognised for identifying and profiling emerging artists on a national stage within a high-quality curated exhibition.

Thanks to generous sponsors ‘the churchie’ offers a prize pool of $25,000. The Major Prize Winner will receive a non-acquisitive $15,000 cash prize donated by long-standing sponsor BSPN Architecture, selected by guest judge Sebastian Goldspink.

Goldspink is a Sydney-based curator, most recently curating the 2022 Adelaide Biennial of Australian Art at the Art Gallery of South Australia⁠.

Goldspink will also award a $5,000 Special Commendation prize sponsored by Fardoulys Constructions, and two Commendation prizes of $1,000 sponsored by Madison Cleaning Services.

A People’s Choice Award of $3,000, also sponsored by Madison Cleaning Services will be announced at the conclusion of the finalists’ exhibition, and one lucky voter will receive a night away thanks to Spicers Retreats.

The preselection panel consisted of: exhibition curator Elena Dias-JayasinhaSophia Nampitjinpa Sambono, Associate Curator, Indigenous Australian Art, Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art; ‘the churchie’ Coordinator Sarah Thomson; and ‘the churchie’ Committee member Ben Hugheston-Roberts.

Finalists’ Exhibition:
30 July–1 October 2022
Institute of Modern Art

Prize Announcement:
2 September 2022
Institute of Modern Art

Image: Emmaline Zanelli, ‘Crash Factory’, 2021. Video Still.